Normally, I Must Leave My Lair In Order To Feed…

Posted: 13 August, 2009 in Raiding, Wrath of the Lich King

Copy of Onyxia1Barely a week has gone by since I waxed poetic about how amazing some of the Old World content was, and then Blizzard announce they’re tidying some of it up for level 80.  Yes, you heard right…

ONYXIA’S BACK, BABY!

She has lurked in her lair and done battle with the many brave adventurers who travelled to that familiar location over the years. Now, in honor of the World of Warcraft 5-year anniversary, the dreaded brood mother Onyxia is being revamped to make a return to the forefront of Azeroth, as part of our big plans for the upcoming 3.2.2 content patch.

This permanent update to Onyxia will convert the dungeon into 10- and 25-player modes. We will be adding new items to Onyxia’s loot table that have the same model as some of the classic loot from this dungeon, like Tier 2 helms, with stats updated to match the current level of content. There will be a special new item too: a normal drake-sized 310% speed flying mount modeled after Onyxia herself called Brood of Onyxia. We will also be updating the encounter mechanics to be more fitting for modern raiding, but we can guarantee players will get to experience the frightening horror of deep breaths once again.

Then for a limited time, after the 5-year anniversary event officially begins in November, anybody who logs in will receive an Onyxia Brood Whelpling pet.

We’re very excited to bring this classic encounter back to provide a fun new experience for both new and veteran players. Further details will be available in the near future, and we will be setting up the Public Test Realms soon to help test out this fight along with all the new content we have planned for the patch. Keep an eye on the forums for updates.

Sure, they’re revamping old content to save on development time and art assests.  No I don’t care because it’s Onyxia, dammit! Copy of Onyxia2It’s just wierd that a week after I post about how awesome the old girl was, Blizzard announce they’re bringing her back.  Hmm..  I wonder…

*cough*

Gee, it sure would be nice to have 50,000 gold and a pair of fruit elf groupies fall out of the sky and into my lap!

Well, you never know.

Comments
  1. dw-redux says:

    Somewhere in the blue to grey text switching, something went a little south.

    Anyways, your post sure did awaken the nostalgic in me, so im getting a little more excited than my blog-post might suggest. Its just that I revolt against what it stands for! Like some hat-wearing british guy rewieving wii sports*, I might like it as it is, but the overall aspect of this is making me revolt! Its the angry little 12 year old that never got his pony. Im yelling and screaming at blizz to make content like they used to, not give us the content we are used to (uuuh that sounded smart!! MY catchphrase)

    *his name is yatzee and here it is: http://www.escapistmagazine.com/videos/view/zero-punctuation/844-Wii-Sports-Resort

  2. Tamarind says:

    EEEE! I’m so excited. THIS is precisely the sort of the thing that makes me cheer (much better than all that memory of Onyxia bullshit they pulled out of their arses for the ToC).

    Can you ask Blizzard for heroic RFC next, since they clearly listen to you? 😉

  3. Kurnak says:

    Don’t ask for it too loud Tamarind… one of the most heard phrases some time ago in guildchat was “LFG Deadmines HC”. They already brought back Arugal, I don’t want a Van Cleef v2.0 running around.

  4. Lajos says:

    Hope this is a trend!

  5. theerivs says:

    I loved Van Cleef, named after that awesome villian from the westerns.

    Anyway the only thing that I’m gonna be mad about is more Jenkins will be running around now.

  6. Naïve says:

    I’m thrilled. I am abosulutely, without a single little doubt, thrilled. I’m one of those youngsters in WoW, joining in on the fun after it apparently was over. Yes, I entered Azeroth in TBC. So when I heard Naxx was coming, I giggled. I got to play with the toys the big kids had used before! Now I’m feeling pretty much the same, Onyxia is an iconic boss, and I can’t wait for my try at the minus-50-DKP-dragon. And that mount they’re teasing us with? I’d give you a lung for it.

  7. Tamarind says:

    This is disconnected but it was fantastic to see you fruit elfin it up in ED last night. Sorry I didn’t get a chance to say goodbye – your raid beginning coicincided unfortunately with the doorbell. I meant to ask, are you a deathtank? Because if you ever have a little time to kick your heels in our neck of the woods, M’Pocket tank has a lock and I have a tree somewhere in the 60s so we could always three-man our way through Outland for fun, profit and AWESOME. Hell, even if you’re not a deathtank we could still try. I mean, that voidy has to earn his keep somehow 😉

  8. Calli says:

    Sounds like a blast. The Fruity One is deep Blood at the moment, but I tank on Sithica so I know the drill. We shall speak more on this later. 😉

  9. theerivs says:

    What server you guys play, I would love a blogger unite kind of thing. 🙂

  10. […] the blue corner, among many others, we have: Mr Pew Pew https://pewpewlazerz.wordpress.com/ and […]

  11. Calli says:

    Tam’s server is Emerald Dream

  12. dw-redux says:

    Blood is tank Calli, so saying you are deep blood *but* knows how to tank makes no sense whatsoever..
    And rolling on ED should give you the chance to FINALLY roll that female dwarf you have been lusting for for so very very long.

  13. Markus says:

    Heroic Deadmines will be a reality as well as one of the Kalimdor ones (the name from the announcement escapes me at the moment). What’s next? Hogger being an outdoor raid?

  14. Calli says:

    Hogger as a world boss? Ow noes!

  15. gnomeaggedon says:

    Mmmm, I just received 50,000 gold and a pair of fruit elf groupies in the mail… anyone know who this belongs to?

    Nope?

    Nevermind, I will find a use for it…

Leave a Reply

