They Think It’s All Over…

Posted: 3 July, 2009 in misc
Tags: ,

Surprise!  No, I’m not back at the wheel yet, but this newfangled internet thing seems to have actually found its way onto Her Majesty’s Ships, so while I can’t play for another month I can at least write about playing.  A poor second best, but beggers can’t be choosers.

One fact that hasn’t escaped my attention is that it’s just over a year since I was last stuck in some godforsaken military outpost with little to do other than read WoW Blogs, all of which inspired me to start my own, the results of which you can see before you.  One year later, two facts leap to mind.  The first is that Pew Pew Lazerz is a year old and I hadn’t noticed.  The second is that there’s nothing written on another blog that I can’t shamelessly rip off and use as inspiration for my own!

So, drawing “inspiration” from one of the posts at Egotistical Priest I’ve enjoyed reading on those long night watches, my question to you is this:

If you could sit down with a WoW developer over coffee and bagels for a half hour, what would you ask them to change about the game?

I’ll kick off with a few examples.

1.  Remember at Blizzcon before WotLK was released when the devs said Mages were going to be the undefeated, unparralled, unrivalled masters of AoE damage?  Apparently what they meant by that was they were going to give everyone an AoE ability that was just as good as anything we had.  Except for those classes that already had better AoE than us.  Obviously.  So what I’d ask for is something, anything, that mages could do better than, or at least as well as, anyone else.  Just a friendly word of warning before someone shouts “portals!” or “Gief cake!”  We have very long memories, we hold grudges and we can set you on fire by just thinking about it.

2.  This next one I read over at Egotistical Priest and I think it’s awesome.  Make Consecration heal any friendly target standing in it.   There may be a dozen different reasons why this is never going to happen, but I don’t want to think of any of them because the idea is just so awesome.  It doesn’t have to be a massive heal, let it tick for the same amount that Consecration already does damage.  Paladins won’t care, they’ll be too happy to finally be able to heal more than one person at once without a bandaid or a glyph.  It even makes sense from a lore perspective.  Take a good look at your nearest Holy paladin.  More armour than the USS Missouri and a shield you could block the Death Star’s exhaust port with.  WHY is he/she standing at the back with the squishies?  Alexandros Mograine, Tirion Fordring, Uther the Lightbringer…  these names ringing any bells?  When the brown smelly stuff hits the air recirculation unit, these were not people you saw at the back, hiding behind the priests.  Get the paladins into battle where they belong!

Except Galadan, obviously.  He’s too pretty to get his armour dirty.

3.  Make flying mounts work everywhere.  Yes, I know it would mean a crapload of effort that could be used making new stuff instead, and I know it will never happen.  But we can fantasise.

4.  Let Calli be a Gnome.

5.  Get someone who’s actually been to Scotland to do the Dwarf female voices.  Please.

So.  What would your choices be?

Comments
  1. gnomeaggedon says:

    Whoah, grats on the ONE big year of blogging.. to all your alter-egos!

    Me… I just want Gnomes to have exclusive use of those Engineering exclusive mounts.. they can use them of course, but no one else but Gnomes…

  2. pewpewlazerz says:

    I just heard the news about Living Bomb on the PTR, I think wish No1 just came true! :)

  3. dw-redux says:

    4. Now I understand why you don’t find dwarf females *HOT*, your taste is sick and twisted. You are indeed the Gimp from Pulp Fiction (sicko!!) No wonder your taste doesn’t follow the norm.

    5 Oh lord hell yes. They should make Thor do em!! (inside guild-joke), he would love to do it for free, and he would do a scarerely good job at it too. Just listen to him over TS whenever shiny purples drop, the 4 octaves his voice jumps, juuuust about nails it!!

  4. pewpewlazerz says:

    Pfft, noams are hawt! HAWT I tell you! I’ve known it ever since I clapped eyes on Chromie at level 58! One day she will be mine, oh yes!

  5. Middea says:

    6. Any chance of taking out some of the monotonous grind and reinstating some fun in the raids, or even a variety of raids to choose from?

  6. pewpewlazerz says:

    That’s been one of my biggest gripes in Wrath – the lack of content, although I think Blizzard are getting better at fixing it. Naxx was out for a LONG time before we saw Ulduar, and doing Naxx again but with one hand tied behind your back for the same loot and 10 more epeen points was NOT interesting. I was a bit worried about the news that Ulduar would feature Hard Modes as additional content, because again, doing the same boss a different way is not new content. However, there were enough tough and interesting bosses in Ulduar, and the next content patch is coming soon enough, that I think they got it just about right.

    I don’t think we’re going to see multiple instances like Gruul/Magtheridon, SSC/TK and BT/MH again too soon, though. People complained too loudly at having to run multiple raid locks, although like you, I enjoyed the diversity. No doubt Blizzard’s dungeon design team will evolve their approach further in the future, but for now I think we’re stuck with the one major multi-boss instance and one or two single boss instances model for the time being.

    They’re certainly getting a lot better at removing the mindless trash slog from the instances, though. Remember the trash in Molten Core? Ahn’quiraj? Old Naxxramas? Karazhan? Black Temple? Or Mount Hyjal, and entire instance based around the trash, with the bosses almost an afterthought. Contrast that with Ulduar. They’re making big improvements.

  7. redux says:

    Totally ripped you off om me own blog on the theme for this post :D

    And yea, seems bout right that the new instance will come after summers over, it will however have NO TRASH, at all. That should be interesting on its own. But will prob mean that it will be an instance that is over and done with qiuck. 5 bosses and no trash? ‘hello’ two hour raids.

  8. pewpewlazerz says:

    Zomg! And I’ve have gotten away with it too, if it wasn’t for that thieving lolknight! Back in a month, will see this new instance for myself then.

Leave a Reply

