Honest (s)Crap

Posted: 28 March, 2009 in misc

wowscrnshot_032809_123837Oh noes!  I’ve been rumbled!  That pesky gnome over at Armageddon’s Coming has tagged me with the Honest (s)Crap Award!  The rules are pretty simple…

Them’s The Rulez

1. When accepting this auspicious award, you must write a post bragging about it, including the name of the misguided soul who thinks you deserve such acclaim, and link back to the said person so everyone knows she/he is real.
2. Choose a minimum of seven (7) blogs that you find brilliant in content or design. Or improvise by including bloggers who have no idea who you are because you don’t have seven friends. Show the seven random victims’ names and links and leave a harassing comment informing them that they were prized with Honest Weblog. Well, there’s no prize, but they can keep the nifty icon.
3. List at least ten (10) honest things about yourself. Then pass it on!

So what I’ve decided to do, since Gnomey loves my alts so much, is to get each of them to nominate a deserving blog themselves.  For mage blogs it’s a tough choice.  The Pink Pigtail Inn is always a nice place to rest and put your feet up, and Euripedes over at Critical QQ is always entertaining, but Calli’s choice is going to have to be Armageddon’s Coming, because Gnomey’s so goddamn prolific he puts me to shame.  And somehow he finds the time to be Hindu too!  Henriksen, over to you, shorty.

And Now Over To Our Panel Of Judges

wowscrnshot_032809_123842Cheers, lassie!  Well, there can really only be one choice when it comes tae Hunter blogs, Big Red Kitty stands head and shoulders above thae rest… well, as much as ye can stand head and shoulders above anything when yer as vertically challenged as we Dwarves.  Still, at least we’re not gnomes.

Anyhow, BRK gets mah vote because his video guides are thae best around!  And when he’s no on the sauce he’s usually pretty amusing too, check out this post as an example, because it’s true what they say, all loot IS hunter loot, dammit!

Shinano, wee lassie, over tae you!  Ah’m gonna get pished.

wowscrnshot_032809_123848Ishnu-alah, Henriksen!  Well I’m proud to say that the choice of top quality druid blogs is pretty staggering, and my first choice would always have been Phaelia over at Resto4Life.  Sadly for us, Phaelia has closed her doors, but happily for her it’s because she’s having her very own baby druidling.  Blizzard even honoured her by including an item in Ulduar named after both her and the occasion that forced her to close down her blog – Phaelia’s Vestments of the Sprouting Seed!

However, since Phaelia is now an ex-tree, my next top choice for Druid blogs must go to Leafshine over at Lust for Flower.  Check it out, and I challenge you not to leave with a smile on your face.

Ande’thoras-ethil, readers.  Fingers, over to you.

wowscrnshot_032809_123853Cheers, Shinano.  Nice dress by the way.  Anyway, Rogue blogs.  Just about the only Rogue blog I ever spend time reading is Parry!  Dodge! Spin! by Valenna.  Her stuff is well-presented, concise, informative and entertaining.  All the good stuff any noob stabby like me needs to know.  I have the good fortune of being a clueless rogue in a guild with some very good rogues who are always happy to share stabby tips, but anything I can’t glean from them I get from Valenna.  Sadly, she can’t give me the extra eye and pair of hands I need to get my head around the Mutilate/Hunger for Blood spec, but I’m sure she’s working on it.

If anyone needs me I’ll be opening lockboxes on the Auction House Bridge, and you didn’t see me, right?

Gorn old buddy, over to you.

wowscrnshot_032809_123901Yer, thanks, Fingers.  Well, I isn’t too good at der readin and Ratshag at Need More Rage in’t too good at spellin and stuff neither.  So I gets Aluriel to read his blog to me.  He’s an Orc, like, but one o’ dem honest ones and good inna fight so I fink he must be okay.  And he’s got sum reely cool axes and swords and stuff an almost as many scars as me so he’s pretty cool.  I reckon I could have im in a fight, tho.

I heard this joke in Ironforge the other day, about Dirge.  I didn’t get it at first, but Aluriel expla.. explayn… told me what it ment.  It was funny. I laffed.  Hur hur hur.

Wanna see my scars?

wowscrnshot_032809_123925Elune-adore, readers.  Gorn’s busy with his favourite book right now, don’t worry, he’ll be fine… “My Big Book Of Axes” has lots of pictures.  But, to business!   Choosing a worthy priest blog to be nominated is hard work, there really are a lot of top quality priest blogs out there.  At the end of the day however, I can only really choose one, and that’s The Egotistical Priest, simply because it covers absolutely everything, has a HUGE archive of material and always makes me laugh whenever Hannelore’s writing anything.  Check out her review of some PuG basics to see what I mean.  Sure, she may be a depraved, magic-addicted fruit elf but that doesn’t mean she can’t be funny.

Ande’thoras-ethil, readers!  Jingles, your shout.

wowscrnshot_032809_123914That’s The Mighty Jingles to you, you shameless, wanton, night elf hussy!  The.  MIGHTY.  Jingles!  And cover yourself, sheesh!  What’s an evil genius got to do to get some respect around here?

That reminds me.  I remember once I arrived in Telaar with my customary /yell of “Tremble in fear, mortals, for your doom is here!  It is I!  The Mighty Jingles!  I CANNOT BE DENIED!”  I waited for the customary cries of fear and awe but all was silent for several seconds, then someone /yelled back “LOL I THOUGHT YOU WAS A WORLD BOSS ROFL.”

The nerve!  I AM a world boss!!!

Ow!  Prod me again Calli and I’ll bite your finger off.  Ok, maybe just your ankle.  Ok, Ok, the point..  what was it?  Oh yes, Warlock blogs.  My vote goes to Yet Another Warlock Nerf.  If any of you peons are interested in perfecting your play, you could do a lot worse than check it out.  I don’t need to of course, being perfect already, but it pays to keep astride of what you mere mortals are up to.

Now, I must away!  World domination doesn’t organise itself you know, I’m a busy gnome!  Galadan, put the mirror down and nominate a paladin blog, you’re as pretty as you’re ever going to be.

Sheesh.  You just can’t get the staff anymore.

wowscrnshot_032809_123920So there I was in Darnassus at the Temple of the Moon and these three hot night elf priestesses were wanting to see my Hammer of Justice if you know what I mean.  Anyway, I have enough Blessings of Protection for three, so I …  Ok, Aluriel’s giving me some funny looks.  We’ll finish later.

Hey guys, Galadan here, too young to die, too pretty to live!  You all know me, right?  Ka-ching!  Right back at ya! Please form an orderly queue, ladies!  Plenty of Paladin for everyone!

So anyway, I’m cruisin’ the web and that’s not all I’m cruisin’ when “Hello there there sweety pie!”, who’s this?  Siha at Banana Shoulders can Judge me with Light any time of the day if you know what I’m saying, right?  So I drop by with a “Hey, how YOU doin’?” but she’s playing hard to get, you know?  So I start reading her blog and damn, but this chick’s a professor or something, one of those real smart types, you know the kind who act all prim and proper but when they let their hair down BOOM!  Judgement of Light, baby!  YEAH!

She’s still not answering my calls.  Must be something wrong with her mail.  Yeah, that’ll be it.

wowscrnshot_032809_1239292Chronokai kristos, readers!  Galadan’s found his mirror again so we’ll get nothing useful from him for hours.  Now it’s my job to nominate a deserving shaman blog, but I have a confession to make..  I..  er..  don’t actually read any.  I blame Calli, she neglects me!  I haven’t been played in months.  I’m still level 70!  My poor hooves are getting mildew!

/tar Calli

/Shakefist

So I resolved to see what was out there and was happily surprised to see the shaman blogging community is alive and well.  My choice for the award goes to Flameshock simply because he writes stuff that’s useful to a noob shaman like me.  He keeps it simple and is always informative with useful advice and posts that any shaman of any development level can relate to.

And finally, it’s over to Sithica for the Deathknight nomination.

wowscrnshot_032809_123934Hi!  I thirst for souls.  Just so you know.

There can only be one Deathknight blog nomination from me, and that’s Dwarf Death Knight from my very good friend Redux.  He’s easily the most prolific commenter on my blog, you’ll know him as “DW” for his previous main, Dreamweaver, a Dwarf priest with whom he raided right up to Sunwell Plateau.  Dreamweaver was infamous within the guild for getting tired of certain melee classes spamming chat with their massive crits.  So one day he responded in kind with “OMG MASSIVE HAELZ IN YOUR FACE!” and there was much lollage.

These days he’s caught the tanking bug on his Deathknight, Redux, and has completed Sartharion with three drakes in both 10 man and 25 man flavours, so it’s pretty sure that he knows what he’s doing except…  well… he just loves to tank so much that sometimes he can’t stop himself.  Tanking Blazes and Whelps isn’t enough for Mister Redux, oh no.  Sometimes he gets this irresistable urge to taunt Sartharion AT THE SAME TIME!

Redux, just so you know, I never at any time promised I wouldn’t tell everyone. :p

And now that the nominations are over, I have to post 10 honest things about myself.

The Awful Truth

1.  I..  erm…  this is hard for me.  My spells…  they’re not…  erm…  bound to keypresses.  There I said it!  Sheesh, stop looking at me like that.  At least I’m not a keyboard turner!

2.  I levelled Gorn to 60 as Protection, back when Protection really, really sucked.  I’d had some horrendous PuGs with warriors who thought that they kept dying while tanking with a two-hander because the healer was crap and resolved to do it “right” when I levelled my own warrior.  Feel free to /point and /laugh.

3.  I don’t really hate Warlocks.

4.  I wish Calli had been a Gnome.

5.  Our raid leader is a very, very accomplished Rogue, Warrior and now Deathknight.  He plays each class so well that I can’t bring myself to play Fingers in the same group with him due to performance anxiety.  It doesn’t help that I’m not actually that good at playing a rogue.

6.  I once faked a disconnect to get out of a raid that I was too tired and ill to bother with.

7.  My first level 60 toon was Henriksen, my hunter.  He’s now my least-played.

8.  I’m 39.

9.  As soon as 3.1 arrives I’m dropping Improved Scorch like a hot potato and swapping to some spec that isn’t going to be crippled by the crit nerf.

10.  Thinking of 10 honest things to say about yourself is harder than it looks!

honest_scrap1

Comments
  1. gnomeaggedon says:

    lol, see, now that’s what I am talking about!

    BTW, I think I might roll a Gnome Warrior by the name of Oxymoron, or maybe isaOxymoron.

    Probably more likely to be called moron tho.

    I thought you tagged me…? I see worship but no tag… 😛

  2. pewpewlazerz says:

    I’m working on it, soon as I figure out how to. This blogging is srs bsnus!

  3. DW says:

    There is a LOT of misunderstanding concerning my tanking do’s and dont’s!
    Ill clear those right up in a post of my own soon. For example sarph is hardly the only boss where my taunt button has had a bit of trigger happyness.

    Thanks for the tagging, ill get started on my list asap

  4. DW says:

    ALSO
    What do you mean dwarfs are vertically challenged??? I think theres something you have cleary misunderstood. Theres NORMAL hight, and then there is oversized fatties that are “human” sized or even “elf” sized.
    And don’t get me started on taurens…
    Anyways the worst of them, are the gnomes! I do not trust anything short, and neither should any of you… Apart from our overlord Mighty Jingles.

    All hail the Mighty Jingles

  5. pewpewlazerz says:

    No, no, no… you don’t *trust* The Mighty Jingles, you’re supposed to *fear* him! But Respect will do. 🙂

  6. Drugar says:

    I don’t know whether to be concerned or amused that you write blogposts with all your characters communicating with eachother, each with their own personality.
    It does lead me to believe you’ve had some extensive D&Ding in the past.

  7. DW says:

    “It does lead me to believe you’ve had some extensive D&Ding in the past.”
    Either that or it just comes with age 😀
    *runs and hides*

    Anyways you can deffinetly talk about trust there. I don’t completly 100% trust anyone who plays a fantasy game such as this who has never played table-top games.

  8. pewpewlazerz says:

    Gorn was actually the name of my first AD&D character, a warrior. So, well spotted.

  9. rakhmanx says:

    Why thanks very much… I’ll be sure to get onto my acceptance just as soon as I can!

Leave a Reply

