All Your Living Bombs Are Belong To Us.

Posted: 10 August, 2008 in Mage, Wrath of the Lich King
Tags: , , ,

There seems to have been another patch sneaked onto the Beta servers without my noticing it, Blizzards are getting sneaky. So what’s changed? Oh nothing much. Living Bomb’s had a small tweak for one thing. Here follows a quick image of a Mage casting Living Bomb on someone:

Oh yes, you heard that right. Casting Living Bomb ON someone. Targetted. Not channelled. Heck, there are reports from pvp beta testers that Fire Mages are owning many faces. Yes, hard to believe, but I jest not. Fire mages are making with the serious face ownage. On a massive scale. I’m laughing so much right now I fell off my desk. Hurray for cordless keyboards!

Okay, okay, before we get too carried away, let’s just look at this in slightly more detail.

Living Bomb Rank 3
1010 Mana 35 yd range
Instant cast
The target becomes a Living Bomb, taking 1380 Fire damage over 12 sec. After 12 sec or when the spell is dispelled, the target explodes dealing 690 Fire damage to all enemies within 10 yards and knocking all targets up in the air. This spell can only affect one target at a time.

Now don’t forget that while those numbers may seem small, the tooltip for my Fireball right now says it does 717 to 913 damage, and I can tell you boys and girls right now that on a good day, with Scorch up, it’s hitting for 3,500 on average. And that’s at level 70. So God only knows what the actual damage output of Living Bomb is going to be, but two things are certain – Face. Ownage. Oh yes, this little beauty has a 35 yard range, which is 41 yards after talents. You cast it on someone, and it’s instant cast, they go boom. Some poor schmuck tries to dispel it off them, they go boom. There is lots and lots of boom involved here friends and neighbours.

But there’s more. Oh yes, it gets even better, trust me. Remember how Burnout was a complete and total bag of arse when it was unveiled? 25% crit damage bonus but all crits caused you to lose 5% of your base mana, implode, and crash the server? (I may have exaggerated some of the effects just a small amount) And then they patched it as I reported here, and it suddenly became not quite as crap as it was before but still not amazing? Well read on and weep tears of fiery joy, my friends!

Burnout Rank 5
Increases your spell critical damage bonus with all Fire spells by 50% but your spell criticals cost an additional 5% of the spell’s cost.

FIFTY percent critical damage bonus on Fire spell criticals! FIFTY! That’s a five and a zero, right after each other just in case you’re all still too busy laughing to focus, because frankly, I was. I saw that talent change and I strapped on my lollerskates and skated all the way to my roflcopter.

Rejoice my fiery brothers and sisters! We will no longer be as much use as an ashtray on a motorbike! And as if all of that wasn’t enough, Fire may even be viable for raiding as well as pvp-based rofl’ing. I had a quick mess around with the beta talent calculator and came up with this little old talent build. All the good stuff in Fire that we know and love with Living Bomb because it’s so completely and utterly awesome now, plus reduced cooldowns on Frost Nova and Ice Block, 3 points in Elemental Precision, (because it’s a Tier 2 talent now) Clearcasting, reduced Arcane threat (for when nothing other than an Arcane Explosion will do), 40 to all resistances and the godly talented spell that is Focus Magic from the Arcane tree. Sure, some of the points are pure filler, stick them wherever you like, I don’t mind. I’m too busy laughing.

Wait a minute… what’s that whining I hear at the back? Is that the Frost Mages kicking up a fuss? QQ ye not, gentle Frosties, for there are treats in store for you, too. I warn you all, however, if you’re short of breath after laughing your asses off from the previous information, you should probably go sit down somewhere and think about George Bush for a few minutes, or you’re probably going to choke.

Frost Mages, I give you the new and improved…

Improved Water Elemental Rank 3
Increases the duration of your Summon Water Elemental spell by 15 sec and your Water Elemental restores mana to all party or raid members an amount equal to 3% of their total mana every 5 secs.

And that is just… just… well I’d say awesome but it just doesn’t seem to do it justice. I hope you guys had as much fun reading all this as I did writing it. I’m actually starting to feel cautiously optimistic about the expansion. I know, I know… an optimistic mage.

It’ll never catch on.

:p

Comments
  1. zupa says:

    Woot another mage blog 🙂

    hello, im Zupa.

    Nice post also !

  2. pewpewlazerz says:

    It’s nice to have something positive to write about the Mage talents. Thanks for visiting!

  3. gnomeaggedon says:

    Yay, oh Yay.. ohhh I have to go to work and read this properly… yay!

  4. Larísa says:

    Knocking people up in the air? That sounds fun!

    Nice rading and since you’ve written a few posts now you’ve definitly made it into my Blog roll…

    So I guess Gnome has got a friend by his side now in the Battle of the Mages?

  5. pewpewlazerz says:

    I’m afraid he has, at least until the expansion hits. We Fire Mages are a fickle bunch. 😉

  6. krizzlybear says:

    BOOM! Welcome to the mage community! May your bombs be living, and your OOMs be few.

  7. Alex says:

    I found your site on technorati and read a few of your other posts. Keep up the good work. I just added your RSS feed to my Google News Reader. Looking forward to reading more from you down the road!

Leave a Reply

